OMD Electricity DVD

A two disc DVD of OMD with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra.

Disc 1. On June 20 2009, 80's synth-pioneers Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark realised a 30 year dream, backed by the rich resonance of a 75 piece orchestra, the visual majesty of filmmaker Hambi and the vision of artist Peter Saville. Set in the Opulent and historic setting of Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, OMD performed their imposing back catalogue with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, including the orchestral premiere of the stunning collaborative artwork The Energy Suite. The hit laden set, dripping with classics such as Enola Gay and Joan of Arc, and stuffed with exclusive firsts, such as the primary live outing of Radio Prague and Native Daughters of the Golden West, is captured in all it's magnificence on 'Electricity' OMD with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra.

Disc 2. The Energy Suite is a collaboration between OMD, Peter Saville and Hambi, incorporating five films of power generating sites, based in an arc around the Irish Sea, accompanied by five new orchestral compositions by OMD. It reflects on the peculiar romance of factories and power stations that have a sculptural presence in the landscape of the Northwest of England and Wales.

Including special documentary:

The making of The Energy Suite by Tom Simpson (25mins)

Product details

Running Time: Disc 1 - 75 mins, Disc 2 - 30 mins.

DVD Pal Region 0


+ Add to Basket