About this object

One of six fragments of carved limestone relief from the back of the funerary chapel of Atef at Meidum. The five pieces have not been found in storage and are still presumed to have been destroyed in the Second World War. The surviving fragment is from the central panel of a male figure. There are remains of red pigment (red ochre) preserved on the arms.

The object is illustrated in W. M. F. Petrie's publication of the excavation, 'Medum' (London, 1892), pl. XXVI ('Medum. Atef. Back of Chamber').

Object specifics

  • Type
    Architecture
  • Culture
    Old Kingdom
  • Artist/Maker
    Unknown or unrecorded
  • Place made
    Africa: Northern Africa: Egypt: Meidum
  • Date made
    2613 BC - 2494 BC
  • Materials
    Limestone
  • Location
    Item not currently on display
  • Acquisition
    Presented by the British School of Archaeology in Egypt (Egyptian Research Account)
  • Collector
    British School of Archaeology in Egypt
  • Place collected
    Africa: Northern Africa: Egypt: Meidum
  • Date collected
    1910
  • Measurements
    620 mm x 510 mm x 125 mm
  • Note
    Was presumed to have been destroyed in 1941 when the museum was gutted by a fire. Located in 2015, under an accession number assigned in 1978 (1978.291.147). The record card for this object has not yet been located.
  • Related people
    British School of Archaeology in Egypt (Collector, previous owner)

Explore related

Publications

  • Medum

    Petrie, William Matthew Flinders

    Author: Petrie, William Matthew Flinders
    Publisher: David Nutt
    Date: 1892
    Description: Available onlione at http://www.archive.org/stream/cu31924028670465#page/n6/mode/thumb

Ownership

Previous owners

Object view = Humanities
No media found
Have 20 place tagsPage load time: 78 ms