Our venues
Our museums and galleries

Film Poster, 'Trilogy'


About this object

The Terence Davies Trilogy, 1983

Created as three separate films over a ten year period, Trilogy offers an early
insight into his distinctive technique and style. Heavily autobiographical, through
his fictional alter-ego Robert Tucker, we witness three stages of life. In the first
film, Children (1974-76) domestic violence and brutality dominate and in
Madonna and Child (1980) his closet homosexuality leads to abject misery.
Finally, in Death and Transfiguration (1980-83) Tucker copes with the death of his
mother and his own loneliness and mortality.

Object specifics

  • Title
    Film Poster, 'Trilogy'
  • Accession no.
  • Type
    Film Poster
  • Artist/Maker
    Unknown or unrecorded
  • Place made
    Unknown or unrecorded
  • Date made
  • Materials
  • Location
    Item not currently on display
  • Measurements
    510 mm x 760 mm
  • Related people
    Terence Davies (Associated Person)
  • Collection
    From the Museum of Liverpool collections
Object view = Social History
Page load time: 62 ms