Celebrating 60 Years of the John Moores Painting Prize

Article Featured Image
We’re celebrating the 60th anniversary of the John Moores Painting Prize in 2018 with something very special. For the first time, the winner of the competition’s first prize will be offered a solo show at the Walker Art Gallery, as well as the £25,000 cash prize and a three month fellowship at Liverpool John Moores University. The first prize-winner will have an unparalleled opportunity to show a body of work - existing or new - in one of the Walker’s beautiful, contemporary exhibition spaces. They will work closely with the curators to develop the project in order to present their artworks to the Gallery’s annual audience of 290,000 visitors during 2019. Established artists including Wolfgang Tillmans, Bridget Riley, Lubaina Himid, Maggi Hambling, Catherine Opie, Enrico David, John Kirby, Ben Johnson, Conrad Shawcross and Mark Leckey have all had shows at the Walker Art Gallery in the past few years. The Gallery has also hosted breakthrough projects for artists including Robyn Woolston, Tabitha Moses and John Walter. The Walker is the national gallery of the North, with a collection of world-renowned paintings, decorative and fine arts that spans hundreds of years. This extraordinary collection includes the first prize-winning paintings by David Hockney, Peter Doig, Lisa Milroy, Sarah Pickstone and Michael Simpson, as well as one of the 2018 jurors, Bruce McLean. They will offer a remarkable, inspiring and unique context for the winner’s solo show. To join the illustrious list of contemporary artists who have exhibited at the Walker, to experience the spotlight shining on your work, and to share the building with paintings by some of the greatest figures in art history, make sure you enter the John Moores Painting Prize 2018 before noon on Monday 13 November 2017. Enter now!