John Moores Painting Prize 2018 Catalogue

Hockney Insert
click to zoom
Judging Process Insert
click to zoom
1957 Poster Insert
click to zoom
click to zoom
2018 Catalogue
click to zoom
60 Years Cover
click to zoom

The internationally-renowned John Moores Painting Prize is the UK's longest-established painting prize, founded in 1957. Named after the sponsor of the prize, Sir John Moores (1896 – 1993), the competition is entered and judged anonymously and open to all UK-based artists working with paint.
The competition culminates in an exhibition held at the Walker Art Gallery every two years, and 2018 will mark the art prize’s 60th anniversary and its 30th exhibition, having championed contemporary British painting for over two decades longer than any other art prize of its scale.

The catalogue features all 60 of the displayed works, including the five prizewinners and, in addition, the winning entries from the John Moores Painting Prize China. To celebrate 60 years of the art prize, there is also an anniversary volume containing all of the first prizewinners from the previous exhibitions, including David Hockney (1967), Mary Martin (1969), Peter Doig (1993), Keith Coventry (2010), Sarah Pickstone (2012), Rose Wylie (2014) and Michael Simpson (2016). They are supported with archive images of the Walker Art Gallery, judges, tickets, letters, catalogue covers, opening events and artists.

The two catalogues come in a slip-case with a choice of images from the Walker Art Gallery archives or this year's winner.

Product details

Cover: The catalogue is available with a choice of inserts: Peter Blake 60, the Winner's Painting, 1957 Poster, the Judging Process and David Hockney. If you have a preference please put your choice in the message box when ordering.

Format: Two paperbacks in a slip-case. Anniversary volume, 98 pages, 58 colour and black and white illustrated pages. 2018 catalogue, 168 pages, 77 colour illustrations.

ISBN: 978-1-902700-60-1

Publisher: National Museums Liverpool


+ Add to Basket